and Sent


Basilicas of Rome


The history of the church of Saint Ignatius in Rome is linked to the origins of the Roman College founded by Saint Ignatius of Loyola in 1551.

When the number of students grew, Pope Gregory XV entrusted Orazio Grassi with the project of building a church dedicated to Saint Ignatius of Loyola. The new church was consecrated in 1722.

The church is visited every day by pilgrims and tourists from all over the world:

  • for its baroque artistic works

  • for its cultural events

  • for the spiritual events proposed

  • for the Jesuit saints buried here: Luigi Gonzaga, Roberto Bellarmino, Giovanni Berchmans.


To find out more:


The basilica of Santa Maria sopra Minerva (Latin: basilica Sanctae Mariae supra Minervam) is a basilica in Rome located in the Pigna district, in Piazza della Minerva, near the Pantheon

The basilica also houses the remains of Caterina da Siena, co-patron of Rome Italy Europe proclaimed Doctor of the Church in 1970 and of the mystical painter Beato Angelico proclaimed “Universal Patron of Artists” in 1984, as well as a valuable fresco by Melizzo da Forli.


To find out more:


Built in 1650 and awarded the title of Minor Basilica on December 20, 1965, Sant’Andrea della Valle is the church of today’s General House of the Theatine Regular Clerics, founded in Rome on September 14, 1524, by San Gaetano Thiene and the venerable Gian Pietro Carafa, bishop of Chieti, future Paul IV.

In addition to its grandeur and beauty, which distinguish it from other churches in Rome, the Theatine basilica has hosted the remains of two Supreme Pontiffs since 1623: Pius II and Pius III, the relics of two holy martyrs: Anthony and Fortunatus and the sacred remains of Theatine Cardinal San Giuseppe Maria Tomasi. In it is also venerated the memory of many other canonized saints who carried out their sacred ministry there.


To find out more:


St. Peter’s Basilica in the Vatican, officially the Papal Major Basilica of St. Peter in the Vatican. It is the largest of Rome’s four papal basilicas and is often described as the largest church in the world, both due to its size and, metaphorically, its importance as the centre of Catholicism

As a pontifical chapel, located adjacent to the Apostolic Palace, St. Peter’s Basilica is the seat of the main manifestations of Catholic worship and is therefore in solemn function on the occasion of the main papal celebrations. Under the pontificate of Pius IX it hosted the sessions of the First Vatican Council and under Pope John XXIII and Paul VI those of the Second Vatican Council.

In addition to its liturgical importance, due to its thousand-year history, the workers involved, the exceptional technical and artistic quality, as well as the enormous and lasting influence exerted on subsequent architecture, St. Peter’s Basilica is widely considered one of the absolute masterpieces and one of the most important achievements in the history of architecture, and is included in the UNESCO World Heritage Site called Vatican City and established in 1984.

The construction of the current St. Peter’s Basilica began on 18 April 1506 under Pope Julius II and ended in 1626, during the pontificate of Pope Urban VIII, while the arrangement of the square in front was completed only in 1667


To find out more:


Rome, 2 – 4 November 2023

Only message